Personal tools

Home » AWARDS » EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

The “EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation” (henceforth “the Award”) has been created through a donation from the Per-Simon Kildal Foundation (, initiated by Cécile Schilliger, Madeleine Schilliger Kildal and Susanne Schilliger Kildal, in memory of their husband and father, Professor Per-Simon Kildal (1951-2016). Since 2018, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP).

The main purpose of the EurAAP Kildal Award is to keep alive Prof. Kildal’s legacy, as well as to foster the work of young researchers in the fields of Antennas and Propagation. This award recognizes an outstanding CV by PhD students or by individual who is has earned a doctoral degree between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the field of antennas and propagation.

Selection will be based on the quality and significance of the candidate's contribution to the field, and on the recommendation of the referees.

The Award, by nomination only, will be presented annually to an early stage researcher. Candidates for the award must be nominated by their PhD supervisor.

Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD

  • at an academic institution in Europe
  • in a field related to Antennas and Propagation
  • in the period from 1 January 2019 – 31 December 2020


The Award will be officially presented every year at the banquet of the European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP). The award consists of a prize of 750 euro, which will be funded by the Kildal Family through a donation, a plaque and a free EuCAP banquet ticket. The nominators will be asked to submit the following items:

  • A filled nomination form
  • A letter of nomination from the dissertation advisor stating the value of the dissertation in terms of its originality, significance, and potential applications in the field of antennas and propagation.
  • An extended abstract of the PhD thesis (maximum six pages) including a list of refereed publications resulting directly from that dissertation.
  • Three representative publications related to the work of the thesis
  • At least two and no more than three supporting letters (not counting the nomination letter from the dissertation advisor), all of which must be from institutions outside the one granting the dissertation. One of the letters must be from industry. 

A committee chaired by Stefano Maci and including four prominent scientists chosen by the EurAAP Board of Directors (BoD), in consultation with the Kildal family, will be in charge for the selection.

The 2021 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal  Award Committee is composed by:

  • Prof. Stefano Maci (Chair)
  • Prof. Eva Rajo Iglesias
  • Prof. Ahmed Kishk
  • Prof. Zvonimir Sipus
  • Dr. Marta Martinez Vasque


 The committee will assign the Award on the basis of: 

  1. Originality, influence, and relevance to the field.
  2. Relevance and quality of the thesis and selected papers;
  3. Scientific standing of the candidate.

The selection will be made based only on the contributions made during the course of the PhD. The Award Committee has the option of not giving an award for any given year if not enough submissions of quality and relevance have been received.

Nomination forms must be submitted by January 31, 2021, together with the publications and endorsements requested using the nomination form available here. The Awards Committee will inform the BoD of the final decision before February 28, 2021.

All the documents should be sent via email to  (Prof. Maci with copy to the Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee and the EurAAP Chair).


Prof. Stefano Maci
University of Siena 

Dr. Cyril Mangenot
EurAAP Chair

Dr. Marta Martínez Vázquez
Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee


EUCAP 2021 Log in

Important Deadline

EuCAP2021 Paper Submissions

16 October 2020

There will be no extension !

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors



Silver Sponsors

Microwave Vision Group Logo



Bronze Sponsors



Further Sponsors

Supporting Institutions
European Microwave Association
IET logo
ISAP logo